Subscribe to Secularism is a Womens Issue

Secularism is a Women’s Issue

Home > impact on women / resistance > Israel: in support of Palestine at the UN

Israel: in support of Palestine at the UN

Sunday 25 September 2011, by siawi3


To: intl

From: talgut

Today, Thursday, September 22, at 5.00 pm – a historical timing, on the eve of the UN debate – a special event will be held at 16 Rothschild Boulevard, opposite the building where the independence of Israel was proclaimed in 1948. On that spot there will be held a rally expressing support of Israeli and international recognition of the Palestinian state, and stating that the alternative to such recognition is going towards a new Masada.

Among participants and speakers at the events will be Yael Dayan, Alon Li’el, Amos Oz, Yoran Kanyuk, David Tartakover, Yehuda Bauer and others.

Participants will be invited to sign publicly the following manifesto:


Recognition of the Palestinian State – and then negotiations - rather than another Masada

In front of our very eyes, an insane drama is being acted out. The Prime Minister of Israel is leading his citizens to Masada.

Human morality, Jewish history and the interests of Israel – all clearly show the way to being the first state in the world to recognize, in the United Nations, our neighbor state and them to enter into negations, based on equality, regarding territorial exchanges and security arrangements. After all, the Palestinian State recognizes the State of Israel in the "67 borders.

The Jewish People arose in the Land of Israel, there they developed their identity. The Palestinian People arose in Palestine, there they developed their identity.

Therefore, we sincerely welcome the expected declaration of independence by the Palestinian State, Israel’s neighbor, and within the borders at the time of our independence which were determined at the end of the War of Independence in 1949; the borders more commonly known as the ’67 borders. This is the natural right of both the Jewish and the Palestinian people – as written in Israel’s Declaration of Independence “to be masters of their own fate, like all other nations, in their own sovereign State”.

The independence of both peoples strengthens one and the other, it is both a moral and basic necessity at one and, the same time, it is the foundation upon which good, neighborly relations are built.

We, the undersigned, call on all persons seeking peace and freedom, and upon all nations to join us in welcoming the Palestinian Declaration of Independence, to support it and to work and act together in order to encourage the citizens of both countries to live together in peace, based on the ’67 borders and mutual agreement. A final and complete end to the occupation is a basic condition for the freedom of both peoples, for the realization of Israel’s Declaration of Independence and a future of peaceful coexistence.

Initial list of signatories

Larry Abramson, Artist and Prof. of the arts

Maj Gen (Ret.) Avraham Adan (“Bren†), former Commander of the Armored Corps

Prof. Chaim Adler, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Joseph Agassi, Philosopher

Gila Almagor-Agmon, Israel Prize laureate

Shulamit Aloni, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Eva Illouz

Oriella Ben-Zvi

Prof. Elie Barnavi, former Ambassador to France

Ilan Baruch, former Ambassador to South Africa

Prof. Yehuda Bauer, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Haim Ben Shahar, former President of Tel Aviv University

Prof. Miriam Ben-Peretz, Israel Prize laureate

Daniel Blatman, Head of the Department for Contemporary Judaism

Prof. Menachem Brinker, Israel Prize laureate

Dr. Rafael Braun

Prof. Judith Buber Agassi

Maj Gen (Ret) Nehemiah Dagan, former Chief Education Officer

Dr. Yossi Dahan

Yael Dayan, former Member of Knesset

Brig Gen (Ret.) Prof. Eran Dolev, Commander of Health Services

Prof. Yehuda Elkana, former President of the Central European University

Brig Gen (Ret.) Yitzchak Elron, former Military Attaché in South America

Prof. Yaron Ezrahi, winner of the Political Science Society Award

Prof. Menachem Fish

Yona Fischer, Israel Prize laureate

Ari Folman, Golden Globe laureate

Prof. Haim Gans

Maj Gen (Ret.) Shlomo Gazit, former Head of Military

Intelligence, Chairman of the Jewish Agency and President of Ben Gurion University

Yair Garbuz, Emet Prize laureate

Moshe Gershuni, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Galia Golan

Prof. Amiram Goldblum

Prof. Naomi Graetz

Tal Gutfeld

Prof. Hanoch Gutfreund, former President of the Hebrew


Tal Harris, CEO One Voice

Prof. Galit Hasan-Rokem

Prof. Ruth Hacohen

Lahav Halevy

Prof. David Harel, Israel Prize and Emet laureate

Dr. Shmuel Harlap, Chairman of Colmobil Limited

Prof. Naomi Chazan, former Knesset member

Yoram Kaniuk, Sapir Prize laureate

Dani Karavan, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Avnet Katz

Prof. Elihu Katz, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Yehoshua Kolodny, Israel Prize laureate

Ofer Lalush

Alex Levac, Israel Prize laureate

Savyon Liebrecht

Dr. Alon Liel, former Director General of Foreign Ministry

Ram Loevy, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Avishai Margalit, Israel and Emet Prize laureate

Hanna Maron, Israel Prize laureate

Sami Michael, Emet Prize laureate

Hillel Mitlepunkt

Ohad Naharin, Israel laureate

Raz Naftali

Amoz Oz, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Dov Pekelman

Michal Peleg

Izhar Petkin, Artist

Prof. Itamar Procaccia, Israel Prize laureate

Sefi Rachlevsky, expert on Jewish theology

Prof. Gabi Salomon, Israel Prize laureate

Dr. Aliza Savir

Prof. Hillel Schocken

Prof. Alice Shalvi, Israel Prize laureate

Maj Gen (Ret.) Nathan Sharoni, President of Council of Peace and Security

Prof. David Shulman, Emet Prize laureate

Joshua Sobol, Theater Award laureate

Prof. Zeev Sternhell, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Carlo Strenger

David Tartakover, Israel Prize laureate

Dan Tsur, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Zeev Tzahor, President of Sapir College

Micha Ullman, Israel Prize laureate

Lia van Leer, Israel Prize laureate

Prof. Menahem Yaari, Israel Prize laureate, President (Emeritus) of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Dalia Yairi

Prof. Yossi Yonah

Prof. Yirmiyahu Yovel, Israel Prize laureate

Clil Zisaphel